Loans for students from other provinces

Getting a loan

If you are from a Canadian province or territory other than BC, you can apply to receive government student loan assistance by applying through your home province or territory.

Your home province or territory is generally the province where you lived before attending UBC, depending on whether you are a dependent or an independent student.

Find your provincial or territorial office

Get more information on what student financial assistance options are available to you, and how to apply.

Automatic tuition deferral

Eligible graduate and undergraduate students will have fees deferred for one month after the tuition fee deadline in September or January. Deferrals don't apply to registration deposits.

You are eligible for automatic tuition deferral if: 

  • You apply for full time student loans by July 31, and

  • You are eligible for funding to pay your tuition and fees.

Check your deferral on the SSC

You can check that your deferral has been processed in mid-August by viewing your "Financial Summary" under Finances in your Student Service Centre (SSC).

If you have questions

If you're an undergraduate student, please contact your Enrolment Services Advisor directly. To find your advisor’s contact information, log into your Student Services Centre (SSC) and select “UBC Contacts” under Personal Info.  

Graduate, postgraduate, and all other students can contact an Enrolment Services Advisor by calling 604 822 9836 or submitting your question through the online form.