Faculty and departmental signing authorities


When planning your event and applying for your Special Event Permit, you may need approval from up to 3 signing authorities, who may impose additional conditions before giving permission to hold your event.

Find your faculty or department below for the appropriate faculty and departmental signing authorities.

Faculty and departmental signing authorities

Applied Science

  • Applied Science: Bhushan Gopaluni
  • Civil Engineering: Bernard Laval, Head
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering: Steve Wilton, Head
  • Integrated Engineering: John Nakane, Head
  • Materials Engineering: Daan Maijer, Program Director
  • Mechanical Engineering: Jennifer Pelletier, Manager of Facilities & Special Projects
  • Mining Engineering: Bern Klein, Professor and Head
  • Geological Engineering: Erik Eberhardt, Professor and Director

Architecture and Landscape Architecture

  • Ron Kellett, Director
  • Patricia Poehnell, Graduate Admissions


  • Arts: Gerald Vanderwoude, Assistant Dean
  • Anthropology: Dana Claxton, Head; Patrick Moore, Acting Heads
  • Art History, Visual Art and Theory: Andrea Tuele, Administrator
  • Asian Studies: Sharalyn Orbaugh, Head; Christopher Rea, Associate Head
  • Canadian Studies: Bradley Miller, Director
  • Central Eastern and Northern European Studies: Gaby Pailer, Head
  • Creative Writing: Keith Maillard, Chair; Andrew Gray, Program Coordinator
  • French, Hispanic and Italian Studies: Joel Castonguay-Belanger, Head; Michael Ferrazzi, Administrator
  • Geography: Geraldine Pratt, Head; Sandy Lapsky, Administer
  • History: Robert McDonald, Associate Professor; Christopher Friedrichs, Professor
  • Institute for Gender, Race, Sexuality and Social Justice: Mary Bryson, Director
  • School of Information: Erik Kwakkel, Director
  • Linguistics: Sav Nijeboer, Manager of Administration
  • Music: T. Parick Carrabré, Director
  • Political Science: Richard Price, Head
  • Philosophy: Matt Bedke, Head; Erike Yep, Administrator
  • Psychology: Dr. D. Geoff Hall, Head; Téa Graf, Manager of Administration, Tara Martin, Administrator
  • Social Work:  Suzanne Moore, Administrator
  • Sociology: Guy Stecklov, Head
  • Swing Space: Classroom Services
  • Theatre and Film: Stephen Heatley, Head; Cam Cronin, Administrator; Borja Brown, Manager of Technical Production

Athletics and Recreation

Kavie Toor, Associate Director, Facilities and Business Development

Audiology and Speech Sciences

  • Valter Ciocca, Director
  • Clint Meyers, Manager of Administration

Belkin Gallery

  • Annette Wooff, Administrator
  • Naomi Sawada, Public Programs and Publicity Coordinator 


  • Mary MacDougall, Dean
  • Dr. Zul Kanji, Acting Director of Student Affairs


  • Dr. Jan Hare, Dean pro tem
  • Ayaz Mahmood, Assistant Dean, Finance


  • Rob Kozak, Dean
  • Peter Marshall, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Services
  • Yousry El-Kassaby, Associate Dean, Graduate Studies
  • Jill Yu, Senior Finance and Administrations Manager

International Student Initiative

  • Håkan Björn, Acting Executive Director/Senior Director
  • Damara Klaassen, Associate Director

Irving K. Barber Learning Centre

Julie Mitchell, Director

Land and Food Systems

Rickey Y. Yada, Dean


  • Saker Hirani, Assistant Dean, Finance and Administration 
  • Michelle Burchill, Project Coordinator
  • Yanny Yeung, Director

Life Sciences Institute

  • Aryannah Rollinson, HR & Operations Manager
  • Sharda Muni, Administrative Coordinator
  • Dr. Josef Penninger and Dr. James (Jim) Johnson, Co-Directors


  • Medicine: Dermot Kelleher, Dean
  • Anesthesiology, Pharmacology, and Therapeutics: Roanne Preston, Head
  • Biochemistry and Molecular Biology: Roger Brownsey, Head
  • Cellular and Physiological Sciences: Geoffrey Hammond, Professor and Head
  • Dermatology and Skin Science: Jan Dutz, Head
  • Emergency Medicine: Roy Purssell; John Tallon, Co-Interim Head
  • Family Practice: Martin Dawes, Head
  • Geriatric Medicine: Anita Palepu, Head
  • Mathematics: Daniel Coombs, Head
  • Medical Genetics: Matthew Lorincz, Interim Head
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology: Dianne Miller, Acting Head; Geoff Cundiff, Head
  • Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy: Susan Forwell, Head
  • Opthamology and Visual Sciences: Chris Lyons, Head
  • Orthopaedics: Kishore Mulpuri, Head
  • Pathology and Laboratory Medicine: Dr. Gao Don Brooks, Interim Head; Genevieve MacMillan, Director of Administration
  • Pediatrics: Caron Strahlendorf, Interim Co-Head
  • Physical Therapy: Susan Murphy, Head
  • Psychiatry: William Honer, Head
  • Radiology: Bruce Forster, Head
  • School of Audiology and Speech Sciences: Valter Ciocca, Director
  • School of Population and Public Health: Aslam Anis, Director; Shannon Charney, Senior Administration
  • Surgery: Bethany Saunder, Director of Administration; Gary Redekop, Head
  • Urologic Sciences: Martin Gleave, Head

Museum of Anthropology

  • Dr. Sue Rowley, Director
  • Moya Waters, Associate Director
  • Anna Pappalardo, Assistant Director

Networks of Centres of Excellence

  • Karen Reid, Operations Manager

Pharmaceutical Sciences

Dr. Michael Coughtrie, Dean

Sauder School of Business

  • Linda Tommasini, Director, Resources and Operations
  • Joey Hoegg, Senior Associate Dean, Students
  • Pamela Lim, Assistant Dean and Director, Undergraduate Programs
  • Teresa Pan, Assistant Dean, Robert H. Lee Graduate School
  • Erin Townley-Smith, Acting Assistant Dean, Development and Alumni Engagement


  • Science: James Charbonneau, Associate Dean; Jaclyn Stewart, Associate Dean; Janie McCallum, Assistant Dean
  • Beaty Biodiversity Museum: Quentin Cronk, Museum Director
  • Biodiversity Research Centre: Dolph Schluter, Interim Institute Director (until Dec 31, 2022); Mary O'Conner, Institute Director (starting Jan 1, 2023)
  • Botanical Garden: Patrick Lewis, Director; Douglas Justice, Associate Director
  • Botany: Lacey Samuels, Interim Head (until Jun 30, 2022); Shawn Mansfield, new Head (starting July 1, 2022)
  • Chemistry: Michael Wolf, Head
  • Computer Science: Ian Mitchell, Head
  • Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences: Philippe Tortell, Head
  • Institute for Resources, Environment and Sustainability: Milind Kandlikar, Director
  • Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries: William Cheung, Director
  • Mathematics: Daniel Coombs, Head
  • Michael Smith Laboratories: Peter Zandstra, Academic Unit Director
  • Microbiology and Immunology: Michael Murphy, Head; Susan Palichuk, Operations and Human Resources Manager
  • Physics and Astronomy: Colin Gay, Head
  • Statistics: Paul Gustafson, Head
  • Zoology: Vanessa Auld, Head

Thea Koerner House

Shannon Blakely, GSS Events Director

UBC Farm

Clare Cullen, Operation Director

Liu Institute for Global Issues

  • Allison Macfarlane, Director
  • Ian Taylor, Administrative Lead

Graduate Student Society

  • Nicole Haylock, Events Manager
  • Sarah Park, Events Manager