Premier Undergraduate & Wesbrook Scholarships

About the scholarships

The Premier Undergraduate Scholarships and Wesbrook Scholars are the University's most prestigious designations, given to senior students with outstanding academic performance, leadership, and involvement in student and community activities.

Awards range from 20 Wesbrook Scholar designations worth $1,000 each to renewable scholarships worth $20,000 over two years. 

Eligible students will be emailed with an invitation to attend an information session in September.

See past winners

Eligibility requirements

  • You must demonstrate strong leadership, teamwork skills, and community participation (on- or off-campus). Some awards require an interest or participation in athletics

  • You must have attended UBC Vancouver Campus during the two previous winter sessions (2018/19 and 2019/20) while meeting the registration requirements

  • You must rank academically in the top 10% of your year level and awarding faculty

  • You are in the third, fourth, or fifth year of a baccalaureate program and are on track to graduate in 2021 or 2022, or

  • You must be in any year of the M.D., D.M.D. or J.D. programs, or

  • You must be in in the first year of a Masters degree program (students in a PhD. program or in dual-degree PhD program are not eligible for this award)

Registration requirements for eligibility

To meet the registration requirements during your current winter session (2020W) and your previous two winter sessions (2018W and 2019W), you were registered in:

  • A minimum of 24 percentage-graded credits during both terms of the winter session, or

  • A reduced course load due to extenuating circumstances (documentation is required), or

  • A co-op or education abroad program in one term and 12 percentage-graded credits in the other term of the same winter session, or

  • An education abroad program or co-op for both terms during a given winter session

Students graduating in May 2021 or students with an approved reduced course load can have their current winter registration requirements waived upon confirmation.

UBC students studying abroad during the previous winter session, you must submit a copy of their transcripts from the exchange institution with this application.

For detailed requirements for all awards please see the UBC Regulations Governing University Awards.

How to apply

To apply for the Premier Undergraduate and Wesbrook Scholarships, you must first be nominated by your academic faculty or school. Your faculty will reach out to you and provide a link to the online application form.

For more information on the required documents for the application, please refer to the student instructions (pdf) for the scholarships.


October 13, 2020

Deadline for online application

Eligible students will be provided a link to apply.

Mid-January 2021

Shortlisted students will be notified.

Late-January 2021

Interviews of shortlisted students. 

Award descriptions

The following awards are included in the 2020/21 competition:

  • C. K. Choi Scholarship
    One $10,000 scholarship renewable for a second year based on maintained scholarship standing

  • Sherwood Lett Memorial Scholarship
    One $5,000 scholarship renewable for a second year based on maintained scholarship standing

  • Carl Bradford Robertson Scholarship
    Four $14,250 scholarships

  • Harry Logan Memorial Scholarship and Harold B. & Nellie Boyes Memorial Scholarship
    Two scholarships of $1,950 and $10,900 awarded together, totaling $12,850

  • Thelma Sharp Cook Scholarship 
    One $8,600 scholarship

  • HSBC Emerging Leader Scholarship
    Eight $5,000 scholarships

  • Amy E. Sauder Scholarship and Jean Craig Smith Scholarship 
    Two scholarships of $2,450 and $1,150 awarded together, totaling $3,600

  • Wesbrook Scholar
    Twenty scholarships of $1,000 and the Wesbrook Scholar designation

  • Martha C. Piper Arts Award in Global Citizenship 
    One $1,150 award to an eligible Arts student under the Wesbrook Scholar criteria

  • John H. Mitchell Scholarship
    One $10,000 scholarship

If you have questions

Please contact your Enrolment Services Advisor directly. If you do not have an assigned advisor, they are still available to help.