John TIEDJE Fellowship

Fellowships totaling $41,800 have been made available through an endowment established by Dorothy Tiedje in memory of John Tiedje (BASc 1944, MASc 1945). The fellowships are awarded to one or more Canadian citizens or permanent residents who are enrolled in a Master of Applied Science or PhD Program in the Faculty of Applied Science or the Master of Applied Science program in Engineering Physics in the Faculty of Science, and who have achieved a first-class average or better in the most recent two years of full-time study. Students on both the Vancouver and Okanagan campuses are eligible for the fellowships. Fellowships will be awarded to students whose research will help create and maintain a healthy environment, with preference for research developing clean and renewable energy, advancing the electrification of the economy, reducing greenhouse gas emissions, or improving the efficiency of energy utilization. John Tiedje was a graduate of the Department of Chemical Engineering at UBC who went on to a successful career with Imperial Oil, where he was responsible for developing several new processes for converting petroleum into value-added products. He served as manager of Esso France's research lab in Mont-Saint-Aignan, France; as manager of the Esso Petroleum Canada Research Department in Sarnia, Ontario, until his retirement in 1983; and as chair of the Canadian Committee for the World Petroleum Congress. At the discretion of the Dean of Applied Science the award may be renewed for students who are in good academic standing for up to two additional years for PhD students and an additional 6 months for Master's students. The award is made on the recommendation of the Faculty of Applied Science in consultation with the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies.

Award descriptions are meant for reference only. Values listed may not reflect the most up to date information.

2023 Winter
Faculty of Applied Science