E. A. LLOYD Prize in Poultry Science

A $400 prize has been made available through an endowment established by Dean Emeritus Blythe Eagles, Mrs. Eagles and members of Sigma Tau Upsilon in honour of Professor E. A. Lloyd. This award is to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the appointment of Leonard S. Klinck as Dean of Agriculture, May 11, 1974. His outstanding achievements over a period of 30 years include: a scientist, lecturer, editor and extension worker. Under his direction, the Department of Poultry Science became the source of much improved breeding stock used in the province and he pioneered the single enterprise concept for meat and egg production which characterizes commercial production today. It is awarded to the student specializing in Poultry Science who achieves the highest aggregate standing in third and fourth year courses in genetics, physiology and poultry management and whose graduating essay is on a problem in one of these fields. This prize is one of a series of awards designated as the Agricultural Sciences Founding Faculty Prizes, established to honour those responsible for the organization and development of the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences at UBC. Recommendations made by the Faculty of Land & Food Systems.

Award descriptions are meant for reference only. Values listed may not reflect the most up to date information.

2023 Winter
Faculty of Land and Food Systems

Recommended award

The majority of Recommended Awards do not require an application and students are automatically considered for any scholarships, awards, or prizes for which they are eligible.

Some faculties do require applications: Contact your faculty’s scholarship representative or check your faculty website to find out more.